RLSS National Pool Lifeguard Qualification

RLSS National Pool Lifeguard Qualification

NPLQ Pool Lifeguard Course RLSS.

The NPLQ covers all elements of Pool Rescue Techniques, Lifeguarding Theory, First Aid and CPR. The course is physically demanding and will include swimming to set times, lifting casualties and diving to the deepest part of the swimming pool. Training and assessment for the NPLQ is in three sections and all must be successfully passed to attain the qualification.

  • The Lifeguard and the Law
  • Swimming Pool, Hazards and Control Measures
  • Swimming Pool Supervision
  • Intervention and Rescue
  • Rescue of a Casualty with a Suspected Spinal Injury
  • Emergency Action Plan
  • Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)
  • First Aid
  • Automated External Defibrillation (AED)

Lifeguard Course Prerequisites

Every candidate attending a NPLQ course must be 16-years-old at the time of taking the NPLQ final assessment and be able to:

  • Jump/dive into deep water
  • Swim 50 metres in less than 60 seconds
  • Swim 100 metres continuously on front and back in deep water
  • Tread water for 30 seconds
  • Surface dive to the floor of the pool
  • Climb out unaided without ladder/steps and where the pool design permits

Successful completion of the pool lifeguard course leads to an accredited national pool lifeguard certificate from the Royal Lifesaving Society which is valid for 2 years. A refresher pool lifeguard course (20 hours) is needed before your certificate goes out of date (Please see our pool lifeguard refresher course.

© Copyright 2022 - Leisure Training Ireland

Website by Andrew Murphy